IN BETWEEN

FRIDAYS

"The system has not left here all at once. [...] We are not somewhere in space. We also have to make sure that we survive."

An off-grid community in a moral conflict between commercial mainstream and a sustainable life away from consumer society.

Duration: 97′

Format: 2.39 : 1 (2K)

Language: German

(Subtitles: English)

Completion: 11/2022

Filming location: Tojeiro (Portugal)

PROLOGUE

The Fridayhappiness Associação is an artistic and cultural community working towards the goal of self-sustainability. The community is located in Tojeiro, , in the mountains of Monchique in southern Portugal. Far from the bustle of large cities and surrounded by nature, the community offers an alternative way of life with permaculture gardens, farm animals, sustainability projects, and workshops on art and culture. Volunteers from around the world help manage the community's gardens, care for the animals, and manage the intricacies of daily life throughout the year. The commune’s main focus, however, is the Pizza Night, which is the main source of income for the constantly evolving community.

The Pizza Night has been taking place every Friday for eight years – even on Christmas and other holidays. During the weekly event, the commune welcomes up to 1,600 guests from all over the world. In addition to an all-you-can-eat pizza buffet, visitors have the opportunity to party until morning on one of the three open-air dance floors. Due to its special character, the event has also amassed a reputation beyond the country's borders and regularly welcomes DJs from all over Europe.

FILM CONTENT

The film provides a unique insight into the daily life inside the dropout community. It focuses on the role of the Pizza Night in the lives of the residents and illustrates how the everyday life within the commune is organized outside of the weekly parties. It also sheds light on their motivations for choosing an alternative way of life.

When it comes to living in and with nature, the aspect of sustainability plays an integral role in the identity of this alternative community: Does the weekly pizza night truly represent a morally and ecologically justifiable source of income and how do the members justify their lifestyle?

Due to the outbreak of a global pandemic which forced the community to temporarily close its doors to outsiders, the organizers were increasingly confronted with financial hardships.
To ensure its continued existence, the commune needed almost 70,000 euros in donations, reserves and loans. This brings up the looming question of how the community can find a way to exist independently in the long run.

PROTAGONISTS

RUDI

The documentary’s main protagonist is Rudi (Rudolf Strelow) - a 55-year-old German expat with academic degrees in mechanical engineering, business administration and social psychology.

A native of Gladbach, Germany, Rudi moved to Portugal twelve years ago with his former partner Katharina and their 6-year-old son Francesco in order to realize the dream of a self-sufficient dropout life. Unfortunately, the climate conditions made it difficult to farm the land. Through a lucky coincidence, the first Pizza Night took place after some time among friends and acquaintances. Rudi recognized the potential and was able to create a recurring source of income by means of his business acumen.

KATHARINA

A trained hospitality professional, she lives somewhat outside of the community in order to occasionally escape its hustle and bustle. As co-founder of the Fridayhappiness Associação, she is involved in coordinating the community's daily life and, among other things, supervises the pizza team. Living in and with nature is more important to her than the parties.

FRANCESCO

During the week, Katharina's 18-year-old son attends school in Portimão, 30 kilometers away. On weekends, he helps out with the parties and would like to follow in Rudi's footsteps one day. Nevertheless, he says that after he is finished with school, he wants to travel the world and take some time off from the occasionally overcrowded community

BEA

Bea has been living in Tojeiro since 2020 and originally came to the community as a volunteer from Italy. Now, she is Rudi's partner and in charge of the volunteers and their daily tasks.

Additionally, her plan is to create merchandise for the community and open her own store one day.

TARGET AUDIENCE & RELEVANCE

The topic of sustainability is more present than ever. According to a survey by Statista (2021), 51% of Germans over the age of 16 believe that they can help address environmental problems through their daily behavior. The issue is particularly popular among younger target audiences. Equally important for 16- to 26-year-olds is a free, independent, and self-determined life. It is becoming obvious that interest in formats that address sustainability and freedom is increasing among this target audience. On YouTube alone, four videos on the subject of the dropout life published on the Y-Kollektiv-channel, a production of the German funk- online content network, reached a total of 3.2 million views.

Tojeiro, with its idyllic landscape, its interesting inhabitants, and its unusual business ideas, provides an ideal focus for fostering the curiosity of a young, freedom-loving audience. Several hundred thousand guests and volunteers have already enjoyed the unique character and atmosphere of this place, which is why the municipality has become so well known outside Portugal and enjoys a large following. This network, in addition to the network of international artists who have contributed their art, will be used in the marketing of the film.

Der Film soll den Zuschauer:innen einen ehrlichen Einblick in die einzigartige Realität des Aussteigerlebens geben. Vor allem in Bezug auf die Möglichkeit eines nachhaltigen Lebens und dem Konflikt mit einer zunehmenden Kommerzialisierung werden “beide Seiten der Medaille” gezeigt. So schaffen wir einen Film, der das Publikum mit schönen Bildern in die Berge Südportugals mitnimmt, mit Inhalten zum Nachdenken anregt und Raum für ein persönliches Urteil erlaubt.

DIRECTOR’S NOTE

When Aljoscha told me about Pizza Night during our first trip around Portugal a few years ago, I was skeptical. Why should we drive 30 kilometers for an all-you-can-eat pizza buffet? Even during the drive to Tojeiro, I remained doubtful. Hilly roads with potholes as big as bicycle tires led us to the base of a small mountain, from which we followed the crowds of people towards the entrance.

After our first walk across the grounds, all of my doubts had evaporated. Everything seemed improvised and chaotic, yet exactly as it should be. I was fascinated by the unique nature of the place and the warmth radiated by the people there. Rudi was just as quirky as the place itself. Despite his wizened appearance, he was an educated, ambitious man. Even then, I wondered what motivated him and what his goals and plans would be for this very special place.

These thoughts resurfaced again at the beginning of the pandemic. I was keen to find out how the community would ensure its survival during this turbulent time, so I contacted Rudi again. He told me about the situation on the ground and how he was working on a concept to reopen the commune. It became clear to me that this had to be the moment to revisit Tojeiro, observing and documenting the life of the local community.

And thus, the foundation for the documentary was laid.

CREW

Maximilian Geschke

Director/ Producer

The up-and-coming filmmakerand producer with a degree in media management from the Technischen Universität Ilmenau has was a Junior Producer for various non fiction formats with the focus on art and cultureHe currently works for the renowned documentary production company "berlin producers Media GmbH", where he collaborates on projects for german broadcasters such as Arte, ZDF or WDR.

Aljoscha Habel

Creative Producer/

B- Camera Operator

The Frankfurt-based photographer and videographer with a bachelor's degree in economics from the Goethe – Universität Frankfurt am Main was able to attain a broad skillset through his work on the committee of the Rhetorik-Club Frankfurt e.V. and his stage experience as an actor.

Annemarie Chladek

Director of Photography

Over the past four years, the Berlin-based cinematographer and filmmaker has gained experience as a cinematographer and camera assistant on over 30 national and international productions. She has also worked as an assistant on successful feature films and series such as Dark and You Are Wanted, she is currently working as DOP on the feature film Cat Hunt.

Henrike Dosk

Editor/ Dramaturge

Since 2009, the Berlin-based editor has been editing fictional and documentary material. In addition to regular assignments for various formats of Deutschen Welle, she edited, among others, the long-term documentary Win by Fall (rbb)the tragicomedy Strawberry Bubblegums (NDR) and the documentary film The One Who Runs Away Is The Ghost, which was nominated for Best Editing in the 2021 IDFA International Competition.

The up-and-coming filmmakerand producer with a degree in media management from the Technischen Universität Ilmenau has was a Junior Producer for various non fiction formats with the focus on art and cultureHe currently works for the renowned documentary production company "berlin producers Media GmbH", where he collaborates on projects for german broadcasters such as Arte, ZDF or WDR.

The Frankfurt-based photographer and videographer with a bachelor's degree in economics from the Goethe – Universität Frankfurt am Main was able to attain a broad skillset through his work on the committee of the Rhetorik-Club Frankfurt e.V. and his stage experience as an actor.

Over the past four years, the Berlin-based cinematographer and filmmaker has gained experience as a cinematographer and camera assistant on over 30 national and international productions. She has also worked as an assistant on successful feature films and series such as Dark and You Are Wanted, she is currently working as DOP on the feature film Cat Hunt.

Since 2009, the Berlin-based editor has been editing fictional and documentary material. In addition to regular assignments for various formats of Deutschen Welle, she edited, among others, the long-term documentary Win by Fall (rbb)the tragicomedy Strawberry Bubblegums (NDR) and the documentary film The One Who Runs Away Is The Ghost, which was nominated for Best Editing in the 2021 IDFA International Competition.

Soundtrack

Flimboy is a musical duo from the German town of Marburg, comprising Julian Völker und Simon Conrads. They have provided the soundtrack for this film using their earlier songs as well as their currently unreleased album If I Behave. als Filmsoundtrack zur Verfügung.

In addition, internationally acclaimed DJs such as Dasha Rush, Julian Wassermann and others lend individual music tracks to the film.

Many thanks to

Contact

Maximilian Geschke

film@inbetweenfridays.com

en_USEnglish

IN BETWEEN

FRIDAYS

“Das System ist hier nicht auf einmal weg. […] Wir sind nicht irgendwo im Weltall. Wir müssen auch gucken, dass wir überleben.”

Eine Aussteiger-Kommune im moralischen Konflikt zwischen einem nachhaltigen Leben abseits der Konsumgesellschaft und dem kommerziellen Mainstream.

Laufzeit: 97′

Format: 2.39 : 1 (2K)

Sprache: Deutsch

(Untertitel: Englisch)

Fertigstellung: 09/2022

Drehort: Tojeiro (Portugal)

VORWORT

Die Fridayhappiness Associação ist eine Kunst- und Kulturgemeinschaft, die darauf hinarbeitet, selbsttragend zu sein. Die Lebensgemeinschaft befindet sich in Tojeiro, in den Bergen von Monchique, im Süden Portugals. Fernab von großen Städten und umgeben von Natur, bietet die Gemeinschaft eine alternative Lebensweise mit Permakultur-Gärten, Nutztieren, Nachhaltigkeitsprojekten sowie Kunst- und Kulturworkshops. Volunteers aus der ganzen Welt helfen das ganze Jahr über die Gärten der Kommune zu bewirtschaften, die Tiere zu pflegen und den Alltag zu stemmen. Im Fokus der Kommune steht jedoch die Pizza Night, die die Haupteinnahmenquelle der Lebensgemeinschaft bildet.

Die Pizza Night findet seit acht Jahren jeden Freitag statt – auch an Weihnachten und anderen Feiertagen. Während der Veranstaltung öffnet die Kommune wöchentlich für bis zu 1.600 Gäste aus aller Welt ihre Pforten. Neben einem All-You-Can-Eat Pizza-Buffet haben die Besucher:innen die Möglichkeit auf einer der drei Open-Air-Tanzflächen bis in die frühen Morgenstunden zu feiern. Aufgrund seines besonderen Charakters hat sich das Event auch über die Landesgrenzen hinweg einen Namen gemacht und heißt regelmäßig DJs aus ganz Europa willkommen.

FILMINHALT

Der Film gewährt einen Einblick in das Zusammenleben der Aussteiger-Kommune. Er thematisiert die Rolle der Pizza Night im Leben der Bewohner:innen und zeigt, wie sich der Alltag in der Kommune abseits der wöchentlichen Partys gestaltet. Zudem gibt er Aufschluss über ihre Beweggründe, sich für eine alternative Lebensweise zu entscheiden.

In Bezug auf das Leben in und mit der Natur, wird auch der Aspekt der Nachhaltigkeit in der Lebensgemeinschaft beleuchtet; Stellt die wöchentliche Pizza Night tatsächlich eine ökologisch vertretbare Einnahmequelle dar und wie rechtfertigen die Mitglieder der Kommune ihren Lebensstil?

Aufgrund der globalen Pandemie, die die Lebensgemeinschaft zeitweise zwang, für Außenstehende zu schließen, rückt der finanzielle Aspekt der Party weiter in den Mittelpunkt.
Um ihren Fortbestand zu sichern, benötigte sie knapp 70.000 Euro an Spenden, Rücklagen und Krediten. Daher ergibt sich zudem die Frage, wie die Kommune einen Weg finden kann, dauerhaft unabhängig zu bestehen.

PROTAGONIST: INNEN

RUDI

Der Hauptprotagonist des Dokumentarfilms ist Rudi (bürgerlich Rudolf Strelow) – ein 55-jähriger deutscher Auswanderer mit akademischen Abschlüssen in Maschinenbau, Betriebswirtschaft und Sozialpsychologie.

Vor zwölf Jahren zog der gebürtige Gladbacher gemeinsam mit seiner damaligen Lebensgefährtin Katharina und ihrem 6-jährigen Sohn Francesco nach Portugal, um dort den Traum eines Aussteigerlebens als Selbstversorger zu realisieren. Doch die klimatischen Bedingungen erschwerten es, das Land zu bewirtschaften. Durch einen glücklichen Zufall ergab sich nach einiger Zeit die erste Pizza Night im Rahmen von Freunden und Bekannten. Rudi erkannte das Potenzial und konnte durch wirtschaftliches Geschick eine wiederkehrende Einnahmequelle schaffen.

KATHARINA

Die gelernte Hotelfachfrau lebt ein wenig abseits der Kommune, um ihrem Trubel gelegentlich zu entgehen. Als Mitgründerin der Fridayhappieness Associação bringt sie sich im Alltag der Kommune als Koordinatorin ein und leitet unter anderem das Pizzateam. Das Dasein in der Natur hat für sie einen höheren Stellenwert als die Party.

FRANCESCO

Katharinas 18-Jähriger Sohn besucht unter der Woche eine Schule im 30 Kilometer entfernten Portimão. An den Wochenenden hilft er bei den Partys aus und möchte später in Rudis Fußstapfen treten. Trotzdem sagt er, dass er nach der Schule eine Auszeit von der zeitweise überlaufenen Kommune nehmen und die Welt bereisen möchte.

BEA

Bea lebt seit 2020 in Tojeiro und kam ursprünglich als Volunteer aus Italien in die Kommune. Mittlerweile ist sie Rudis Lebensgefährtin und organisiert die täglichen Aufgaben der freiwilligen Helfer:innen.

Für die Zukunft plant sie Merchandise Projekte und einen eigenen Shop für die Kommune.

ZIELGRUPPE & RELEVANZ

Das Thema Nachhaltigkeit ist präsenter denn je. Laut Statista (2021) sind 51% der befragten Deutschen über 16 Jahren der Meinung, dass sie durch ihr tägliches Verhalten dazu beitragen können, Umweltprobleme anzugehen. Vor allem bei den jüngeren Zielgruppen stößt die Thematik auf großen Zuspruch. Ebenso wichtig ist es für die 16- bis 26-Jährigen unabhängig, frei und selbstbestimmt zu leben. Es ist naheliegend, dass bei ebendieser Zielgruppe das Interesse an Formaten zunimmt, bei denen Nachhaltigkeit und Freiheit thematisiert werden. So erreichten alleine auf YouTube vier Videos auf dem Kanal Y-Kollektiv, eine Produktion des Online-Content- Netzwerks funk, zum Thema Aussteigerleben insgesamt 3,2 Millionen Aufrufe.

Der Ort Tojeiro bildet mit seinen interessanten Bewohner:innen, seiner ausgefallenen Geschäftsidee und der idyllischen Landschaft den idealen Nährboden für die Neugier eines freiheitsliebenden und jungen Publikums. Schon mehrere hunderttausend Gäste und Volunteers konnten sich an der Einzigartigkeit dieses Ortes erfreuen, weshalb die Kommune auch außerhalb von Portugal große Bekanntheit erlangt hat – vor allem auch unter Deutschen.

Der Film soll den Zuschauer:innen einen ehrlichen Einblick in die einzigartige Realität des Aussteigerlebens geben. Vor allem in Bezug auf die Möglichkeit eines nachhaltigen Lebens und dem Konflikt mit einer zunehmenden Kommerzialisierung werden “beide Seiten der Medaille” gezeigt. So schaffen wir einen Film, der das Publikum mit schönen Bildern in die Berge Südportugals mitnimmt, mit Inhalten zum Nachdenken anregt und Raum für ein persönliches Urteil erlaubt.

DIRECTOR’S NOTE

Als Aljoscha mir vor einigen Jahren während unserer ersten Reise durch Portugal von der Pizza Night erzählte, war ich skeptisch. Wieso sollte man für ein All-you-can-eat Pizza- Buffet 30 Kilometer ins Landesinnere fahren? Selbst auf der Fahrt blieb ich skeptisch. Hüglige Straßen mit Schlaglöchern groß wie Fahrradreifen führten uns an den Fuß eines kleinen Berges, von dem aus wir den Massen bis zum Eingang folgten.

Nach dem ersten Gang über das Gelände waren jegliche Zweifel von mir abgefallen. Alles wirkte improvisiert und chaotisch, aber dennoch genauso wie es sein sollte. Ich war von der Einzigartigkeit des Ortes und der Wärme, die die Menschen ausstrahlten, fasziniert. Ebenso skurril wie der Ort selbst war Rudi. Trotz seines verlebten Erscheinungsbildes war er ein gebildeter, ambitionierter Mann. Schon damals fragte ich mich, was ihn antreibt und was seine Ziele und Pläne für diesen besonderen Ort sein würden.

Diese Gedanken beschäftigten mich wieder zu Beginn der Pandemie. Mich interessierte, wie die Kommune ihr Überleben in dieser turbulenten Zeit sichern würde. Also nahm ich wieder Kontakt mit Rudi auf. Er erzählte mir von der Lage vor Ort und davon, wie er an einem Konzept zur Wiederöffnung der Kommune arbeite. Für mich war klar, dass dies der Moment sein musste, Tojeiro erneut aufzusuchen, das Zusammenleben der Menschen vor Ort zu beobachten und zu dokumentieren.

Der Grundstein für den Dokumentarfilm war gelegt.

CREW

Maximilian Geschke

Regisseur/ Produzent

Der Nachwuchs-Filmemacher und Produzent mit Bachelorabschluss in Medienwirtschaft von der Technischen Universität Ilmenau war bis letztes Jahr als Producer für diverse Talkformate zuständig und arbeitete unter anderem an der Dokumentarfilmreihe The Art of Fugue Explored mit.

Aljoscha Habel

Creative Producer/

B- Camera Operator

Der in Frankfurt am Main ansässiger Foto- und Videograf mit einem Bachelorabschluss in Wirtschaftswissenschaften von der Goethe – Universität Frankfurt am Main konnte zusätzlich durch seine Tätigkeit als Vorstandsmitglied des Rhetorik-Club Frankfurt e.V. und seine Bühnenerfahrung als Schauspieler ein breites Skillset aufbauen.

Annemarie Chladek

Director of Photography

In den letzten vier Jahren konnte die in Berlin ansässige Kamerafrau und Filmemacherin bei über 30 nationalen und internationalen Produktionen als Kamerafrau und Kameraassistentin Erfahrung sammeln. Darunter assistierte sie auch bei erfolgreichen Spielfilmen und Serien wie Dark und You Are Wanted. Aktuell arbeitet sie als DOP an dem Spielfilm Cat Hunt.

Henrike Dosk

Editorin/ Dramaturgin

Seit 2009 schneidet die in Berlin ansässige Editorin fiktive und dokumentarische Stoffe. Neben regelmäßigen Aufträgen für verschiedene Formate der Deutschen Welle, montierte sie unter anderem die Langzeitdokumentation Schultersieg (rbb), die Tragikkomödie Strawberry Bubblegums (NDR) sowie den Dokumentarfilm The One Who Runs Away Is The Ghost, welcher 2021 im internationalen Wettbewerb des IDFA für den besten Schnitt nominiert war.

Der Nachwuchs-Filmemacher und Produzent mit Bachelorabschluss in Medienwirtschaft von der Technischen Universität Ilmenau war bis letztes Jahr als Producer für diverse Talkformate zuständig und arbeitete unter anderem an der Dokumentarfilmreihe The Art of Fugue Explored mit.

Der in Frankfurt am Main ansässiger Foto- und Videograf mit einem Bachelorabschluss in Wirtschaftswissenschaften von der Goethe – Universität Frankfurt am Main konnte zusätzlich durch seine Tätigkeit als Vorstandsmitglied des Rhetorik-Club Frankfurt e.V. und seine Bühnenerfahrung als Schauspieler ein breites Skillset aufbauen.

In den letzten vier Jahren konnte die in Berlin ansässige Kamerafrau und Filmemacherin bei über 30 nationalen und internationalen Produktionen als Kamerafrau und Kameraassistentin Erfahrung sammeln. Darunter assistierte sie auch bei erfolgreichen Spielfilmen und Serien wie Dark und You Are Wanted. Aktuell arbeitet sie als DOP an dem Spielfilm Cat Hunt.

Seit 2009 schneidet die in Berlin ansässige Editorin fiktive und dokumentarische Stoffe. Neben regelmäßigen Aufträgen für verschiedene Formate der Deutschen Welle, montierte sie unter anderem die Langzeitdokumentation Schultersieg (rbb), die Tragikkomödie Strawberry Bubblegums (NDR) sowie den Dokumentarfilm The One Who Runs Away Is The Ghost, welcher 2021 im internationalen Wettbewerb des IDFA für den besten Schnitt nominiert war.

Filmmusik

Flimboy ist ein Marburger Duo bestehend aus Julian Völker und Simon Conrads. Zusammen haben die beiden bereits drei Alben auf Spotify veröffentlicht. Ihre Musik verzaubert mit einem laid-back, lo-fi Charakter. Sie stellen dem Film ihre bisherigen Songs sowie ihr neues unveröffentlichtes Album If I Behave als Filmsoundtrack zur Verfügung.

Zudem leihen international gefeierte DJs wie Dasha Rush, Julian Wassermann und weitere dem Film einzelne Musiktitel.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von

Kontakt

Maximilian Geschke

film@inbetweenfridays.com

de_DEGerman